Skip to content

The Twelfth Day of Christmas

January 24, 2011

How many dolls can fit in a set of matryoshkas? According to wikipedia, several dozen. Wow. They must be either very thinly walled or graduate into a very big size.

These felt dolls are from Karen De Nardi’s pattern, aptly named “Matryoshka Dolls,” in Fa la la la Felt: 45 Handmade Holiday Decorations. I’d like to make a whole bunch more of them, although probably not in sizes larger or smaller than these (the smallest is 1.5 inches, the largest 4.25). I can’t make smaller ones, and larger ones would look wonky on the tree.

But wouldn’t it be neat to have a great big one?

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 29, 2011 4:29 pm

    These are so cute. And a giant one would be great. I say go for it. I saw the link to your blog in the Doodle SAL Flickr group and I like it already. By the way, my mom doesn’t read my blog. :)

  2. February 28, 2012 5:29 am

    I love how yours turned out – very impressed that you managed to cut out the flower centres on yours – found that too tricky with mine.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

