Skip to content

The First Day of Christmas

January 3, 2011


Well, technically it’s the tenth day of Christmas, but the calendar and I are rarely on the same page.
Purely for my own enjoyment I’m crafting ornaments out of felt during these after-Christmas days. Most of the designs are from Fa la la la Felt: 45 Handmade Holiday Decorationsby Amanda Carestio. I love this book, and now that I’ve discovered wool felt, I just love the stuff. It’s thicker and stronger than regular acrylic felt, and comes in nicer colors than standard acrylic. A few years ago I bought a bunch of the stuff at a steep discount (wool felt is more expensive than acrylic) from a quilt store that was going out of business. I squirreled it away with my daughter’s craft supplies and promptly forgot about it. Now I’m happily stealing it back from her.

Little bits of sewing, with colored flosses and glittery glass beads, makes me almost forget it’s winter. In an odd way, it’s almost like gardening inside. The colors, shapes, and textures are so cheerful and make me smile. (Well, my gingerbread ornament isn’t so cheerful. But it made me laugh, too. I’ll put it up tomorrow.)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

